HOME  ギターアルバム一覧に戻る

★ CD『リトル・ジャックス・ラグ』 (Little Jack's Rag) / 菅生 直樹 [OTR-035] ¥2,000(税込) 


1. Coon Hollow Capers (Frank R. Gillis, 1899) * 30秒のデモ
2. The Strenuous Life (Scott Joplin, 1902)
3. I Am Thinking Of My Pickaninny Days (*) (Scott Joplin, 1902 / arr. by 新間英雄)
4. X. L. Rag (Lee Edgar Settle, 1903) * 30秒のデモ
5. Pine Apple Rag (Scott Joplin, 1908)
6. Frog Legs Rag (James Scott, 1906)
7. Gladiolus Rag (Scott Joplin, 1907) * 30秒のデモ
8. Little Black Baby (*) (Scott Joplin, 1903 / arr. by 新間英雄)
9. Florida Rag (George L. Lowry, 1905) * 30秒のデモ
10. Aggravation Rag (George L. Cobb, 1910)
11. Ragtime Reverie (Joseph F. Lamb, 1993) * 30秒のデモ
12. Century Prize (Arthur Marshall, 1966)
13. Little Jack's Rag (Arthur Marshall, 1976) * 30秒のデモ
14. 楽愚待夢 Rag (*) (新間英雄, c.1985) * 30秒のデモ
15. Forrest County (David Thomas Roberts, 1979)
16. Roberto Clemente (David Thomas Roberts, 1979)
17. The Pen Pals (David Thomas Roberts, 1981 / transcripted by Alexei Rumiantsev) * 30秒のデモ

(全17曲、58分) (piano solo, *guitar solo/track-3,8,14 )






★デジタル音源でのご購入はこちらでも。CD Babyのデジタル配信プレーヤーです。

 本場アメリカのレビューサイト「Ragtime Music Reviews」(by Jack Rummel)にて、
This month's reviews]。(14.11.18)


Otarunay Records is a Japanese label that seems to specialize in ragtime recordings.  Initially associated with ragtime guitarist Takasi Hamada, it has gone on to feature local ragtime pianists as well.  Little Jack’s Rag, their latest release, features multi-instrumentalist Naoki Sugou on a fine selection of rags, both classic and contemporary.

The first 10 selections are from the period 1899 - 1910.  With the exception of Aggravation Rag, a rarity by George L. Cobb, they have all been recorded multiple times by others.  However, this recording is aimed primarily at the Japanese market (as evidenced by the liner notes, which are all in Japanese), so it is good to bring these well-liked pieces to their attention.

The last seven may need a bit more information.  Ragtime Reverie is a newly-discovered piece by Joseph Lamb, published posthumously in 1993.  Century Prize (1966) and Little Jack’s Rag (1968) are late compositions by Arthur Marshall, the latter being released posthumously, too.  Forrest County, Roberto Clemente and The Pen Pals are all great contemporary folk rags written by David Thomas Roberts early in his career.  Ragtime Rag is the Western title for a guitar work composed by Hideo Shinma in 1985 (the actual title is four Japanese characters followed by the word “Rag”).

Sugou follows the scores very closely and all repeats are observed.  His tempos are all appropriate, as is his use of legato.  The piano appears to be an upright model, so opportunities for dynamic shifts are not as easy as they would be on a concert grand.  He is a very capable pianist who performs clearly and accurately.  His guitar transcriptions of the two Scott Joplin songs, I Am Thinking of My Pickaninny Days and Little Black Baby, are also commendable.

Ragtime may have been born and bred in America, but European players and composers have proliferated to the point of being almost commonplace.  Now we are seeing a surge in popularity in Japan.  Naoki Sugou is but one of the 20+ performers who have laid down tracks for Otarunay, although he and Hamada are the first ones to have solo albums.  You owe it to yourself to investigate how the Japanese have embraced the genre.

Available for $18.00 plus shipping from <http://www.cdbaby.com/m/cd/0000naokisugou>.  For other recordings by Japanese ragtimers, type “Otarunay Records” into the CD Baby search engine.



オタルナイ・レコードは、ラグタイムの録音に特化した日本のレーベルのようです。ラグタイム・ギタリストの浜田隆史と最初に連携して、同様に地元のラグタイムピアニストも登用するようになってきました。彼らの最新作「Little Jack's Rag」は、マルチプレイヤーの菅生直樹の素晴らしいラグタイム曲集で、新旧含めたラグが選曲されています。

最初の10曲は1899-1910年のラグです。George L. Cobbの珍しい「Aggravation Rag」以外は、他のピアニストが何度も録音してきた曲です。しかし、この録音は主に日本市場をターゲットにしているもので(その証拠として、ライナーノーツは全て日本語です)、そのため彼らの興味を惹くのにこれらの愛奏曲を持ってくるのは良いことです。

後半の7曲はもう少し解説が必要でしょう。「Ragtime Reverie」は、Joseph Lambの再発見された曲で、1993年に死後出版されています。 「Century Prize」 (1966) と「Little Jack's Rag」 (1968) は、Arthur Marshallの後期の作品で、特に後者はやはり死後出版です。「Forrest County」、「Roberto Clemente」そして「The Pen Pals」は、David Thomas Robertsがまだ若い頃に作った、偉大な現代フォークラグです。「Ragtime Rag」は、新間英雄が1985年に作曲した西部劇風のギター曲です(実際のタイトルは、「ラグタイム」を日本の漢字で綴ったものです)。

菅生はきちんと譜面通りに弾いていて、全ての繰り返しが保持されています。彼のテンポは全て適切で、レガートの表現も適切です。演奏しているピアノは明らかにアップライトモデルで、強弱変化の機会はコンサートグランドほど簡単ではありません。彼ははっきりと正確に演奏する、とても有能なピアニストです。Scott Joplinの二曲の歌のギター編曲版、「I Am Thinking of My Pickaninny Days」と「Little Black Baby」も賞賛に値します。


以下のリンクから18ドル+送料で購入できます。他の日本のラグタイマーについては、CD Babyのサーチエンジンで「Otarunay Records」と打って検索してみてください。

 HOME  ギターアルバム一覧に戻る